European Commission has proposed banning food imports from Ukraine for five countries

International Business News  –  Polish Agriculture Minister Robert Telus posted on his Twitter platform that the European Commission may also continue to ban food imports from Ukraine in neighboring countries today.

“We have received a draft new regulation from the European Commission banning the import of four products from five countries,” the release read.

As for the draft document, the minister said he hoped the new rules would come into force tomorrow.

Poland and several Eastern European countries suspended imports of Ukrainian agricultural products that enter European markets duty-free this spring after protests by local farmers.

Later, the EU imposed a temporary ban on imports of Ukrainian wheat, corn, rapeseed and sunflower seeds (possibly extended until June 5) from five neighboring countries: Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania and Bulgaria. In the meantime, these agricultural products can still be transported in transit in these countries.

Ukraine opposed the extension of the ban, and the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen backed the government in Kiev.